Celebrating the Music of George Russell

The main body of the LCC and its practical application, including all 4 published versions of Book 1 with their inserts: the 1959 tan cover; the 1959 light green cover Japanese edition; the 1970‘s white cover, which adds an illustrated River Trip to the 1959 edition, and the currently available Fourth Edition, 2001.

The authorization code is the first word on Page 198 of the Fourth Edition of the LCCTO.

Moderators: bobappleton, sandywilliams

Forum rules
An open letter from Alice Russell. June 21, 2011, Brookline, Massachusetts. 1. DO NOT make insulting, mean spirited remarks about anyone or their work; there are a plethora of sites where you can rant unfettered. If you attack someone personally, your comments will be removed. You can post it, but I'm not paying for it. Go elsewhere, and let those artists who are actually interested in discussion and learning have the floor. 2. There will be NO posting of or links to copyrighted material without permission of the copyright owner. That's the law. And if you respect the work of people who make meaningful contributions, you should have no problem following this policy. 3. I appreciate many of the postings from so many of you. Please don't feel you have to spend your time "defending" the LCC to those who come here with the express purpose of disproving it. George worked for decades to disprove it himself; if you know his music, there's no question that it has gravity. And a final word: George was famous for his refusal to lower his standards in all areas of his life, no matter the cost. He twice refused concerts of his music at Lincoln Center Jazz because of their early position on what was authentically jazz. So save any speculation about the level of him as an artist and a man. The quotes on our websites were not written by George; they were written by critics/writers/scholars/fans over many years. Sincerely, Alice

Celebrating the Music of George Russell

Postby Ben Schwendener » Fri Oct 02, 2009 10:28 am

New England Conservatory pays tribute to a beloved faculty member with this concert celebrating the music of George Russell (1923–2009), with many of his landmark compositions on the program, including All about Rosie, A Bird in Igor's Yard, It's about Time, and Listen to the Silence.

Performers include Russell's former students and colleagues from the NEC faculty and from his globe-spanning performances: Ran Blake, George Garzone, Brad Hatfield, Hiro Honshuku '90 M.M., Joe Hunt, Rick McLaughlin, Tiger Okoshi, Marc Rossi'78, '80 M.M., Ben Schwendener. The NEC Jazz Orchestra will be conducted by Pat Hollenbeck '78, '80 M.M. and current NEC jazz chair Ken Schaphorst.

Date: October 2, 2009 - 8:00:PM

Price: Free
Location: NEC’s Jordan Hall
A memorial service and celebration of George Russell's life will be held in New York in spring 2010.
Ben Schwendener
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 3:33 pm

Postby chespernevins » Fri Oct 02, 2009 4:24 pm

Wish we could be there Ben.
Posts: 356
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 7:34 am

Postby bobappleton » Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:01 am


Thanks for this report Ben.
Posts: 309
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 8:57 pm

Return to Lydiation (LCC General Discussion)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest